Dirt drop bar? anyone use one?

cyclocross CX dirt drop bar

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
15 replies to this topic

#1 curtiseddie

curtiseddie

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 06 October 2015 - 10:07 AM

I saw a funky drop bar today with flared drops. Did some research and found out it was a "dirt drop bar." Looks like a style I might like. Just wondering if anyone has had experience with them. Good/bad? Since I got my CX bike, I like using the hoods mainly but thought the wide drops on a dirt bar might give more control. I have limited experience with any drop bar so I'm learning.

Attached Thumbnails

• download.jpg

I like propulsion.

#2 itsthejash

itsthejash

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts

Posted 06 October 2015 - 11:12 AM

I've got a set of Salsa Woodchippers on a Surly Crosscheck. It's set up more towards touring and they are OK, pretty comfortable but a little strange to me. The new Cowchipper bar looks pretty good to me though.

#3 steveo314

steveo314

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 06 October 2015 - 12:36 PM

I just picked up a pair. Haven't got to install them yet. I've wanted a pair since I saw the GT Grade.

#4 rich pierce

rich pierce

Elite Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4614 posts

Posted 06 October 2015 - 01:37 PM

I always get in the drops whenever on rough ground. Less likely to lose grip on bars. Learned that over in Illinois at that dirt track.
Isaiah 40:31 Those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

#5 2Ninr

2Ninr

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 513 posts

Posted 06 October 2015 - 01:56 PM

Roddy had those. He doesn't anymore

#6 wesboyce

wesboyce

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 679 posts

Posted 07 October 2015 - 07:17 AM