2006 Tour Route

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 Vindicator

Vindicator

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted 27 October 2005 - 07:12 AM

The 2006 Route is out.

Biggest change I spot is no TTT.

Two of the mountaintop finishes are back to back, that should be fun.

http://www.letour.fr...s/parcours.html

#2 harristkj

harristkj

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 976 posts

Posted 27 October 2005 - 07:34 AM

Vindicator, on Oct 27 2005, 07:12 AM, said:

Biggest change I spot is no TTT.
Gee would that benefit French teams! I think so.

#3 CyclingStemCell

CyclingStemCell

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 27 October 2005 - 07:50 AM

Not being a huge cycling-event-watcher, I have to say I'm really disappointed about no team trial.  While I'm pretty new to the whole thing, there is a unique beauty about the TTT and the incredible coordination of the teams in that event.  It's really kind of unlike anything else and I'll really miss watching it.

Any thoughts on whether this might hurt Basso's chances next year since CSC was so dominant in last year's TTT (and Discovery will probably weaken without the Man)?  I don't know about the rest of you but I'm really hoping Basso wins it next year.
Life's three essential fluids: coffee beforehand, gatorade during, and beer afterwards.

#4 phawley

phawley

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts

Posted 27 October 2005 - 07:55 AM

...without true time gaps being allowed in the TdF TTT, the inclusion was not going to help anyone too much. Big gaps need to be made in the mts.

In other news, ASO (who put the F in French) are still smarting by having been thrashed 7 yrs in a row by a Yank!